Site Map
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter YouTube channel
Centro de Astrofísica da Universidade do Porto

23-25 September 2012, Porto, Portugal

The Encontro Nacional de Astronomia e Astrofísica (ENAA) comes back for the sixth time to the Centro de Astrofísica da Universidade do Porto (CAUP), co-organized with the Sociedade Portuguesa de Astronomia (SPA).

Conference Poster - Click to download an A3 PDF file

In the last two decades, these meetings have gathered the Portuguese astronomical community to report and discuss the most important developments in several topics of astrophysical research in Portugal. These meetings, which take place annually, are composed of several presentation and discussion sessions with special relevance to the community. These concern the strategic goals of the Portuguese astronomical community, the participation of Portugal in international organizations, such as ESO and ESA, and training and outreach activities.

ENAA meetings provide an ideal opportunity for discussing recent results and achievements of Portuguese astronomical research, and for fostering collaborations between the participants and national institutes.

This ENAA edition in particular will include an open day for the general public who will be presented with two outreach talks, parallel Sun observations and an opportunity to visit CAUP.

In order to make this year's ENAA a success we are counting on the participation of everyone!

  • The Sun and the Solar System
  • Extra-Solar Planets
  • Stellar Formation
  • Asteroseismology and Stellar Evolution
  • Galactic and Extragalactic Astrophysics
  • Cosmology
  • Next-generation observing facilities and Instrumentation

Scientific organizing committee
  • Sérgio Sousa (CAUP, Chair)
  • Polychronis Papaderos (CAUP, Chair)
  • José Afonso (CAAUL)
  • Alexandre Aibéo (CAUP)
  • Pedro Avelino (CAUP)
  • Alexandre Cabral (CAAUL)
  • Antonio García Hernández (CAUP)
  • Nanda Kumar (CAUP)
  • Nuno Peixinho (Univ. Coimbra)

Local organizing committee
  • Sérgio Sousa (CAUP)
  • Polychronis Papaderos (CAUP)
  • Paulo Peixoto (CAUP, Sysadmin)
  • Elsa Silva (CAUP, Admin)
  • Nelma Silva (SPA, Admin)

Images copyright ESO, NASA and STScI.